other teams i enjoy watching: a ramble.

this may (or may not) come as a shock to you, but I love hockey, in all forms.

Even if it comes to other teams.

The Boston Bruins are MY team, forever and always, but I always have a place in my heart for other teams too.

tuk

Some of these I may be bias to, because hometown or even a certain player, but these are teams I always find interesting to watch, and I watch if they are on NBC.

First off, the Dallas Stars. This is the one that I may be a little bias, because I’m a Texan. The Stars have a dynamic offense, led by Art Ross Trophy winner Jamie Benn and former Bruin Tyler Seguin. Also, their prospect group they have is strong and already ready to make a push into the NHL.

dal

The Dallas Stars have acquired Johnny Oduya, Patrick Sharp, and Antti Niemi this summer, and it shows that they don’t play around when it comes to missing the playoffs (like the Bruins!).

I am really curious to how the Lehtonen-Niemi goaltending situation is going to work. Right now, the Stars are spending $10.4 million in goaltending alone. That’s quite a bit of money.

In the minors, the Stars have a lot to look forward to. One of my favorite players to watch in Cedar Park is Jack Campbell. Last season with the Texas Stars, he posted a 14-14-5 record, with a .907 Save Percentage, and 3.03 GAA. He also competed for the United States at the 2015 World Championships, and competed in 120:00 minutes of ice time. Also, Forward Justin Dowling is one to look at as well. Signed last season, he scored 50 points (24 goals, 26 assists) in 65 games. Including this beaut right here:

Dowling1

As a bonus, the mascot doesn’t creep me out as much as the former Colorado Avalanche Mascot, who looks like an Old Ron Swanson if he grew a beard.

Did I mention that they are located in the best state in the world?

Next, the New York Islanders. To be honest, I never really started watching the Isles until our boy Johnny Boychuk was traded to Long Island last summer. Not only has Johnny done great here, but the whole team is great and entertaining to watch.

boych

The fan base on Long Island is loyal to their team, especially during the playoff run. The Islanders went through a great year, with a 47-28-7 (101 pts) record for the season, and qualifying for the playoffs for the last season at Nassau Coliseum. They were actually the team I chose to win the cup in my playoffs bracket.

The only issue with their season is that they weren’t consistent on special teams. Their PP started the season great, but then diminished. Their PK ended the season on a high note, but it wasn’t there in the beginning.

Offensively, John Tavares and Kyle Okposo have done a great job with this team in making it a Stanley Cup contender.

In their “farm”, Joshua Ho-Sang is ready to push into the NHL at any given moment. Drafted in the first round of the 2014 draft, Josh scored 62 points (14 goals, 48 assists) in 49 games with Niagara Ice Dogs this past season. He is NHL caliber, with a lot of confidence in himself.

This last team I want to mention is the Minnesota Wild.  I am not from Minnesota, but I have always had a small place in my heart for the Wild. This is a team that literally went from behind in January, and made a run to the Stanley Cup playoffs.

parise

Devan Dubnyk has done a spectacular job with this team, and has revitalized his career in the process. He was nominated for the Vezina Trophy, and won the Bill Masterton Trophy. Zach Parise and Ryan Suter are some of the classiest players in the NHL (behind Bergeron, of course!) and have contributed to the team this season in countless ways, despite the family matters that they both faced earlier this season.

As a bonus, they are located in the State of Hockey, and they are the team they deserve. Full of heart and promise.

I honestly didn’t know what to write today, and I wanted to go off on a ramble I guess.

Being a huge Bruins fan (and yall know that), hockey comes in all forms, and I love it in any way.

But the perfect form is Bruins hockey.

see you in october.

^AHC

Leave a Reply

