The Best Hockey Themed Movies and TV Episodes

I want to say that this is probably the earliest I have ever wrote a blog post.

It’s around 9:30 pm in Texas, and I typically post as late as 2 am.

I had a great time making the “Hockey Wives” review, I always love reviewing things like that. Since I liked writing that, I thought I would do another entertainment themed post, and it’s the biggie.

I have realized that there is not very much hockey movies and tv episodes out there, but I am pretty sure I have seen all the ones I can possibly find.

This is a list (in no particular order), of my favorite hockey themed tv episodes and movies from over the years. Some of them you will for sure know, but some, maybe not.

The ones with stars (*) are the ones you can find on netflix in the US as of 06/13/2015.

Let’s get started!

Miracle_film

  • Miracle (2004): I know I said this wasn’t in a particular order, but this movie will always be my number 1. This is the movie that made me love the sport of hockey, and I wouldn’t be where I am today without this movie. I watched this movie in my 8th grade English class for the first time, and I was immediately interested to learn more about the sport of hockey, and learn I did. Being a Sports History buff, this is a movie to watch. This movie follows the journey of the 1980 United States Olympic Hockey Team, and the story of how they defeated the dominant Soviet team. Kurt Russell is phenomenal as Herb Brooks, and I love that the director, Gavin O’Connor, casted actors more on their hockey skills and personality, knowing how to act was secondary. If you are looking into buying this movie on DVD, I got my copy at my local Walmart for around $10, but I also bought it around 4 years ago, so the price most likely changed. If you are more of a reading type, read The Boys of Winter By Wayne Coffey, it’s a in depth story of the “Miracle on Ice” and gives you stories of where the players are now, and where they came from before Lake Placid. Also, to view the Soviet Side to things and their perspective, watch ESPN 30 for 30 Of Miracles and Men *, it’s opened my mind to the 1980 game in a whole other way.

md

(#crewgoals)

  • Mighty Ducks Trilogy (1992-1996): If you are a parent of a young child or a older fella who wants to feel young again, this movie is for you. The first and second movies used to be on Netflix, but they were taken off a few months ago. This is the perfect hockey family movie, it’s cheerful and fun to watch. I really enjoy binge watching all three movies in one night, and seeing how all the Ducks grew up more and more as the movies progressed. I was actually born in 1997, so all the movies came out before I was even born, but that doesn’t mean I can’t watch them. If you are looking for a humorous movie that relates to hockey (Cake Eater!), watch Mighty Ducks. And yes, the Anaheim Ducks are actually named after these movies…

kr

  • ESPN 30 for 30 Kings Ransom (2009)*: This documentary gives more of an in depth analysis and background to the 1988 “Trade of the Century”, the one that moved Wayne Gretzky from the Edmonton Oilers to the Los Angeles Kings. I never realized until I watched this, but Wayne Gretzky is really the one who made Hockey popular in California. If he never moved to California, there wouldn’t even be three teams in California. Even though Oilers fans obviously hated the move, and Peter Pocklington for during the trade, it really changed the sport of Hockey. This documentary is on netflix as of right now, and I have watched it over and over again. Be shocked: ESPN actually did something Hockey Related for once…
  • Slap Shot (1977): Can I really write a list of the best Hockey movies and NOT put this on here? This movie is a CLASSIC. If you haven’t seen this movie, you need to. It’s funny and comical, all while adding in the story of a minor league team folding. (It kinda reminds me of the whole situation going on in Arizona right now…) This movie used to be on netflix, but they took it off, as they do with most good movies (like the Avengers and Breakfast Club.).
  • American Dad “Return of the Bling”*: I wanted to start off the list of Episodes with a Funny one. I have never been much of an American Dad fan, but my friend is, and when she told me about this episode, I had to watch it. This episode focuses on how Stan finds out the Roger was a member of the 1980 US Olympic Hockey Team. This is obviously fictional, but it’s one of those episodes that adds a lot of humor, to an otherwise not so humorous matter.
  • Bones “Fire in the Ice” * : I really enjoy the show “Bones”. I happen to like medical and police shows. When I was binge watching the whole series for the first time, I watched this episode, and now it’s my favorite Bones episode. Basically, there is a hockey player who gets murdered, and then since Booth fought the same player in the last game he played, they suspect he did it, but he didn’t. Luc Robitaille guest stared in this episode, and we also see that Booth is a Philadelphia Flyers fan as well. FUN FACT: Nathan West, who guest stars in this episode, also plays Rob McClanahan in the movie Miracle!
  • It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia “Mac’s Big Break” * : I love humorous shows like IASIP, and this episode is no exemption. Since the show is set in Philly, it obviously involves the Flyers. In this episode, Charlie trains Mac for a center ice shooting contest being held at a Flyers game.

30b

  • 30 Rock “Winter Madness” * : I thought for my last one, I would choose one that involves our BOSTON BRUINS! In this episode, the whole TGS crew heads to Boston with Jack, so he can visit his girlfriend, Nancy. This is hockey related, because TGS is sharing an office with none other than, Bruins BeatI know this isn’t totally hockey oriented, but any show that mentions my Bruins is a total plus in my book.

Any other movies/episodes that aren’t on this list, comment them down below! I’m always down for new things to watch. Considering I have seen all the hockey related items on netflix…

see you in october.

^AHC

  • PS: I finished this post at 10:30, still pretty early compared to other posts…
Leave a Reply

