whats going to a happen? : A Bruins update

download

 

Words cannot describe how busy I have been.

I started a new job, got accepted to a sports management program, finals are coming up, I am registering for college, AND I graduate in a little over a week.

Phew.

While I have been busy, there happens to be plenty of Bruins news to talk about, some of which you may already know. But, it doesn’t hurt for me to share my thoughts about this news.

LETS GET THIS STARTED.

BRUINS NEWS:

-Former GM Peter Chiarelli was hired by the holders of the first round draft pick, the Edmonton Oilers. This is a good move for a team that’s looking to rebuild after a disastrous season. Even though the Bruins won the Stanley Cup with Chiarelli,  his choices were starting to cause negative impact on the team this season. He didn’t do much during the trade deadline, did CRAZY contract extensions, and the Seguin and Boychuk trades did nothing in return for our team. I’m glad to see Cam Neely take this into his own hands, and finally help our team soar into the playoffs next season.

-Chiarelli’s new replacement is none other than Assistant GM Don Sweeney. Sweeney is also a former Bruins D-Man back in the 80’s. Sweeney commented on the status of Claude Julien’s coaching position during his first few days. He stated, “A decision Julien will be in due time.”. I like this decision, because he seems committed to making this team better next season and has the drive to become a great GM. I also think that Sweeney will actually communicate with the front office and Neely first before making huge contract and trade decisions.

-Torey Krug and Loui Eriksson were named to Team USA and Team Sweden roster for the World Championship. The United States finished in 3rd place, while Sweden finished in 5th. Krug finished with 5 points (2 Goals, 3 assists) and Eriksson finished with 10 points (4 goals and 6 assists) in the tournament.

-Netminder Niklas Svedberg signed a KHL contract with Salavat Yulaev. This means that the Bruins are on the look out for a new backup for Tuukka Rask. I’m kinda liking this, because Svedberg will get more ice time for a change. Svedberg played in 18 games with the Bruins, finishing with a 7-5-1 record, with 2 shutouts, GAA of 2.33, and a Save percentage of .918.

-Speaking of Netminders, the Bruins have signed UND netminder Zane McIntyre. McIntyre played with UND through the NCAA Frozen Four, losing to Boston University in the semifinals. He was also a finalist for the Hobey Baker Award, which goes to the Best College hockey player in the Nation. His record was 29-10-3 with a 2.05 GAA and a .929 in his last season with North Dakota. He was Boston’s 2010 sixth round pick.

-Patrice Bergeron is again, a candidate for this years Selke Trophy. Bergeron was nominated with Chicago’s Jonathan Toews and LA’s Anze Kopitar. This is the second straight time that Bergeron, Toews, and Kopitar are nominated. Bergeron has 2 of the last 3 Selke trophies, if he wins, he can be tied for second-most all time wins for this trophy.

NHL NEWS:

My playoff predictions were way off, I had the Wild and Islanders in the final, with the Isles winning it all. I had it allllll wrong.

-The current playoff matchups are NYR and Tampa in the Eastern conference and Chicago and Anaheim in the West. My predictions right now are NYR and Anaheim in the final, with Anaheim winning it all. I admit I will feel bad for NYR if they make it to the finals again for the second year in a row, and lose for the second year in a row. But, I feel Anaheim has been more consistent in the playoffs compared to NYR.

-Former Detroit Red Wings coach Mike Babcock has decided to sign with the Toronto Maple Leafs to become NHL’s highest paid coach. Maybe Phil Kessel will slim down a lil bit huh? I hope Babcock has fun second “hell” for the next few years. 🙂

 

I will be attending the UMass Summer Pre College Sports Management Program this coming summer. If any of you guys know anyone or anything about this program, let me know down in the comments! This will be my first time in the New England area, and I’m really excited to escape the horrendous Texas heat, and enjoy some nice New England weather!

Any new Bruins news? Let me know about it in the comments! Since I am now free, and my job hours are more consistent, I will try to read my blog everyday and look at the wonderful comments!

until then, see you in October.

^AHC

 

Leave a Reply

